Joy & Thanks

That which is about to be disclosed may or may not come as a surprise to you.

I like to write.

In my first post ever, I encouraged you to think about what makes you you. Did you think about it? Some things that make me me are that I like to write and I like to validate others. In this post, I am going to challenge you to both of these things. If you don’t like to do them, that’s ok. You don’t have to. If you choose to bear with me, though, I think you will be glad that you did.

I’m at this point in life in which most of my friends are spreading out throughout the country for various jobs. For me, however, I’m staying put. I’m going to be a nanny for the year, which I’m sure you’ll be hearing about in these blog posts. With all the goodbyes, however, my sentimental side is getting even stronger. Didn’t know that was possible, to be honest. This rainy day was spent making cards and writing notes to friends who will no longer be living withing walking distance. I was on a roll.

P1040773

After four years spent trying to figure out how to express my gratitude to a certain influential person in my life, I finally decided that it was time to write a letter to her… because sometimes tomorrow is too late. Writing a letter to someone who has been influential in your life is really a great thing. In doing this, you are loving them by affirming their role in the world and in your life, you are pointing out their God-given gifts and talents, and you are also giving yourself the opportunity to reflect on memories and on how you have grown.

And then I remembered this video and realized the potential for a blog post. A story, a challenge, and an awesome video… makes for a good post.

Ahhhh. Pure joy. Wouldn’t you enjoy to get a phone call like that? Or perhaps… a letter? Take Jesus’  “golden rule” to heart and do unto others as you would have them do unto you. Spread some joy and share some thanks today.

One thought on “Joy & Thanks

Leave a Reply

