On Silence

We’ve all been there. In a waiting room, on a bus, waiting for a friend to arrive for a lunch date. Waiting. It’s a thing.

While at the dentist last week, I was told the dentist would be a few minutes. “Ok, thanks!” I replied. “Do you want a magazine or something? Or do you have a phone?” “Oh, I’m fine, I can just wait.” “Well you can’t just sit there in silence! Haha…” A well-intentioned response, but not all that thoughtful. Hm.

For whatever reason, I was really bothered by this conversation. In this moment, as I am trying to figure out why it bothered me so much (so that I can say more about it), it hit me.

That’s me. Both of those people in that conversation. At first thought, I was bothered that this world is not okay with just being. Just waiting. Just sitting. But then I realized… I am in the world. I, too, am not okay with waiting. Just being.

In the smallest of moments- the insignificant ones- I’m great at it. It’s ok to just be. But in the grand scheme of things? I’m not okay with it. I can’t just be. I can’t be silent and listen to the sound of my soul. Perhaps out of fear of reality. Out of fear of hearing what I really need to hear. Fear of hearing a calling that I am not willing to respond to. Ideally, I could successfully blame this on our culture permeating my way of life. But choosing to be in the moment and be okay with only being… is just that: a choice.

We are not human doings, we are human beings. If you are who you are meant to be, you will set the world on fire. 6d6a601e2b51bf1a41ce6045a512cb00

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

